'Discern following of kin' spell - does the taracquire know their mind is being check out in any type of way? What about LoS?

This sounds prefer a cool spell, but tright here is no cite of whether or not the target knows someone is analysis their thoughts in any kind of means. The descriptor only mentions a Will save is important. This is a vital little of indevelopment, considering that it would certainly change the spell substantially if the taracquire would recognize what is happening (or worse, who is doing this).

You are watching: Discern next of kin

Anvarious other point is LoS; the spell has 60ft. variety, however no point out of LoS, just 'target'. Is tright here a common core dominance that says spells which have actually a target call for LoS unless otherwise pointed out, or can I just scry on someone as lengthy as I recognize their basic whereabouts within 60ft.?

Thank you.


3 comments
share
save
hide
report
100% Upvoted
This threview is archived
New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast
Sort by: best



level 1
· 5y
A excellent dominion of thumb is to ask yourself which interpretation better serves the interests of the game.

Also whether an interpretation would make something totally usemuch less, non-functional, or game-breaking in either direction.


3
Share
ReportSave
level 1
· 5y
GM

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/#TOC-Saving-Throw


Succeeding on a Saving Throw

A creature that effectively saves versus a spell that has actually no apparent physical results feels a hostile force or a tingle, but cannot deduce the specific nature of the strike. Likewise, if a creature’s saving throw succeeds against a targeted spell, you feeling that the spell has actually failed. You do not sense as soon as creatures succeed on saves versus impact and area spells.

A creature that succeeds on its saving throw is aware that something taken place, yet it doesn't know what taken place unmuch less it perceives the spreading and renders the Spellcraft examine to identify the spell.

Unless someone has some various other guidance that I'm missing, I'd ascendancy that a creature that fails its conserving throw against a mind-affecting spell doesn't pay attention to the truth that a spell was actors on it. The spell implicitly prevents the creature from reacting in a means that would store the spell from having the declared result.

In some cases, a GM could rule that the creature becomes mindful of what you did to it after the spell ends. The D&D 5e version of charm person explicitly claims that the chequipped creature knows that it was chequipped and who charmed it after the spell ends, yet most Pathfinder spells don't include this clausage. Because there's nothing even more specific in the Pathfinder rules, I commonly have the influenced creature realize after the fact that somepoint doesn't feel best, but it doesn't instantly understand whom to blame unmuch less it provides the ability checks to translate what it remembers.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/#TOC-Aiming-a-Spell says

Some spells have actually a target or targets. You cast these spells on creatures or objects, as characterized by the spell itself. You have to be able to view or touch the targain, and you should particularly select that target. You perform not need to select your tarobtain until you end up spreading the spell.

See more: An Agent Who Buys And Sells Securities From Inventory Is Called A:

I analyze that to mean that for any type of spell that targets, you have to have line of result to the taracquire.